User Guides

Data Retention policies in WorkSmart enables you to automatically retain your content in WorkSmart for a specified period of time, and to delete the content from WorkSmart that is no longer relevant. Data Retention Policy can be applied to all types of Apps and Files Manager including sub-folders into the Files Manager app.

Data Retention Policy works as a 2-step process:

Archive Data : During the first step, the record or file is “Archived”.
Archive is a soft-delete process in which the Archived data is removed from all the views except the “Archived” view of the corresponding app. You can restore the back from the “Archvied” view

Purge Data :. During the second step, the record or file that has been previously Archived will be “Purged”.
Purge is a permanent delete process after which the file or record will be delete permanently from WorkSmart and cannot be recovered anymore.

Setup

In order to setup Data Retention Policy, go to “Portal Admin” –> “Management ” –> “Data Retention Policy”

Click on “Add Portal level Policy” to define a Portal level data retention policy or click “Edit” to define it for a specific App, Folder or Sub Folder.

As per the above example, any data which was created or upload 2 years ago will be automatically Archived.

And any data which was created or uploaded 5 years ago and is already in “Archive” will be permanently deleted.

Applying Data Retention Recursively

Data Retention policies are applied in a recursive way. Meaning, for each App, Folder or a Sub-Folder, the automated process will check for data retention policy of that specific node. If nothing has been setup, then it will try to find the policy setup at the node’s parent level.

For a Sub-Folder, this will be the parent Folder where it resides and so on.

This process of finding the applicable Data Retention Policy is followed until Portal Level Data Retention Policy. If nothing has been setup at the Portal level too, then no action will be taken.